North Cornwall Rocks

St Petroc's Church


Places to Visit

St Petroc’s Church is the largest and one of the parish churches in Cornwall. 

The current Church dates back to 1470, although there were earlier churches on the same site from 540AD when the Welsh missionary, St. Petroc, founded a settlement. 

The name Bodmin comes from ‘Bos-Menegh’ in Cornish meaning ‘abode of monks’. St. Petroc’s Church went on to play a central role in Bodmin’s history and development.

There are beautiful features to see both inside and out, including a large finely carved font, stunning stained glass windows, a chantry chapel and a well.

Access: - disabled access is available directly through the priest’s door when open, and by assistance at the South door. 

Parking: - is available at the nearby Priory Car Park 

Toilets: - unknown

Food: - none served on site

Dogs: - welcome everywhere

Opening Hours

Monday09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday09:00 - 17:00
Thursday09:00 - 17:00
Friday09:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 17:00


You may also be interested in